top of page

Scrabbled brain!!!


Once again, let me apologise for the three-month long hiatus. What with going back to college for a course, and doctors and hospital appointments, the time's just flew by.

Now, with only several weeks until the start of craft fair season, I'm getting a little nervous!

Stock's now piling up in my craft room, and I'm starting to wonder where everything's gonna go if I don't sell it all!! But better to have more than now enough, right??!!!

In all honesty, I think I've gone a little crazy with it all!! But I can't help it! We all know that it starts small and just blows waaaaay out of proportion!

One of the new crafts that's got me all excited (and we all know it doesn't take a lot!!) is these Scrabble tile coasters. They're so stinking cute, I can't even say!!!!

As usual, my photography skills never do things any justice, but these are such a cool gift idea.

To make them, all you need is some wooden Scrabble tile; I got mine off EBay for about £4; seems pricey, but I got about five coasters from them.

Make up some words; I chose to try and keep to themes. Some I used to give you some ideas are:

KEEP

CALM

BREW

TEA

LOVE

PLAN

ROOT

GROW

JAVA

CAFE

MUGS

SHOT

WOOL

DARN

BIND

YARN

You can always use up any you have left and make it into a non-worded coaster too.

Now, glue your tiles together. I found it easier to glue each word I had together first, then glue them bottom-to-top of each one.

Once the coaster is dry, glue it to a piece of cork and trim down. I was lucky enough to find some that already had some sticky backing on; another EBay find, and so I just stuck them on and trimmed them to size.

And finally, seal them to make them water-proof by mixing up some trusty PVA glue and water and giving it a coat. I did two coats, just to be sure (maybe three; I can't really remember!)!!

I really loved making these; and since I took this picture, I've made some more; coz, once you start, you can't stop!!!

I think these would look great wrapped in groups of four in some pretty ribbon to sell at the craft fairs.

But for now, they look just as good hanging out on my crafting table; I'm in two minds weather to keep them for Christmas as presents for people!

So that's my grovelling over!!!! Now that I have more time, you guys will be seeing more of me; I promise; we've still got plenty of craftiness to come people; I hope you can stay with me on this crazy journey!!!

Toodles xox


Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page